What areas in New York State have sanctuary laws?

x (Do not use) Local News - -

In New York State there are eight areas that the center for immigration studies lists as Sanctuary cities.

Sanctuary cities vary between states, but broadly, being a sanctuary city means illegal immigrants are processed locally and not turned over to federal authorities. 

This is a list of current sanctuary areas in New York State, according to the Center for Immigration Studies:

  • Albany
  • Franklin County
  • Ithaca
  • Nassau County
  • New York City
  • Onondaga County
  • St. Lawrence County
  • Wayne County

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Now