2018 brings new laws to New York

Local News

A higher minimum wage, paid family leave and cutting middle class taxes are among the latest New York laws taking effect with the new year:

Middle Class Tax Cut 

Under Governor Cuomo’s leadership, New York continues to reduce state taxes to record lows for middle-class New Yorkers. These new lower state tax rates will save middle-class taxpayers nearly $6.6 billion in just the first four years, and annual savings are projected to reach $4.2 billion and benefit six million filers by 2025. As the new rates phase in, they will be the state’s lowest middle-class tax rates in more than 70 years. Across New York State, taxpayers will see an average state tax cut of $250 in 2018 and an average state tax cut of $698 when fully phased in in 2025. 

Paid Family Leave 

Beginning tomorrow, January 1, 2018, New York State will begin the strongest, most progressive and most comprehensive paid family leave policy in the nation. New Yorkers will be allowed to take job-protected paid time off to bond with a new child, care for a loved one with a serious health condition or help relieve family pressures when a loved one is called to active military service abroad. When fully phased in, New Yorkers will be eligible for up to 12 weeks of paid time off. 

Those eligible for paid family leave include: 

• Parents during the first 12 months following birth, adoption, or foster placement of a child; 
• Caretakers for a sick spouse, domestic partner, child, stepchild, parent, stepparent, parent-in-law, grandparent or grandchild; 
• Employees with a spouse, child, domestic partner or parent who has been notified of an order of active military service abroad. 

Full-time employees with a regular schedule of 20 or more hours per week will be eligible for Paid Family Leave after 26 consecutive weeks of employment. Part-time employees with a regular schedule of less than 20 hours per week can apply for Paid Family Leave after working 175 days for their employer. 

Additional information on New York State’s Paid Family Leave law, along with numerous resources for employers and workers, can be found on the Paid Family Leave website. The public is also encouraged to call the Paid Family Leave helpline at (844) 337-6303 with any questions. More details are available here. 

Minimum Wage Increase

Minimum wage increases are calculated based on where an individual works, by industry, and, in some cases, the size business. It is estimated that more than 2.3 million people will be positively impacted by the increase in the minimum wage statewide. 

December 31, 2017, the minimum wage rates in Upstate New York will increase to: 

LOCATION 
 
MINIMUM WAGE 

Upstate New York (Not Including Westchester, Suffolk, Nassau Counties and New York City) 
 $10.40 

Fast Food Workers Outside of NYC 
 $11.75 

To help inform businesses and employees, the New York State Department of Labor has several tools available on its website. 

Other resources available include: 

• Minimum Wage FAQs that answer many of the most common questions; 
• The Minimum Wage Lookup tool lets employees check the minimum cash wage they must be paid by their employers; and 
• The Minimum Wage Information Request Form lets employees ask additional questions that are not already answered on the Department’s website and allows organizations to request a live presentation or webinar about the scheduled increases. 

Updated minimum wage posters for 2018 can be found at: 
• Miscellaneous Industries 
• Hospitality Industry, including Fast Food 
• Building Services 
• Farm Workers 
• Apparel Industry 

For more information on New York State’s minimum wage or to file a complaint, please call the minimum wage hotline at 1-888-469-7365. 

To see more laws, visit http://www.governor.ny.gov/

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Mobile Apps DMB_1503428499636.png

Trending Now