Big Ten to play conference-only football schedule

College Sports

COLUMBUS (WCMH) — The Big Ten announced Thursday it will play a conference-only schedule for all fall sports, including football in 2020.

Ohio State will not play Bowling Green on Sept. 5, Oregon on Sept. 12 and Buffalo on Sept. 19. Under this plan, the Buckeyes will start their season at home against Rutgers on Sept. 26.

Right now, the Buckeyes will play nine games during the regular season with five home games and four away games.

In its press release, the Big Ten does not say how the schedule could be amended, or whether games will be added. The release also says schedule decisions will come later.

This measure is not as extreme as the one taken on Wednesday by the Ivy League, which became the first Division I conference to suspend all fall sports.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

More Sports

Twin Tiers Takedown

More Twin Tiers Takedown
More Sports

Mobile Apps DMB_1503428499636.png

Trending Now