Kyle Larson wins first NASCAR Cup Series championship

Local Sports
More The Glen All Access

AVONDALE, A.Z. (WETM) – This year’s winner at Watkins Glen International won his first NASCAR Cup Series championship on Sunday.

Kyle Larson won the NASCAR Cup Series Championship race at Phoenix Raceway to capture his first NASCAR Cup Series championship. The driver of the No. 5 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet won the Go Bowling at The Glen at Watkins Glen International on August 8th.

Larson took the lead on a late pit stop and held off Championship 4 contender Martin Truex Jr. for his 10th win this season. Championship 4 contender Denny Hamlin finished in third and Championship 4 contender and defending series champion Chase Elliott finished in fifth.

Larson rises to the top of NASCAR a year and a half after he used a racial slur while competing in an iRacing event in 2020 and was suspended by NASCAR and lost his job. He was reinstated in October of 2020. The Elk Grove, California native now has 16 career wins in the NASCAR Cup Series.

Copyright 2022 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

If you have a news tip or a correction to the story you can email it to us through this link. If you would like to send a comment to the author of the story, you can find their email on our Meet the Team page.

More Sports
More Sports

WGI Inbound Traffic Map

WGI Outbound Traffic Map


Trending Now