The four-peat – Horseheads Riley Loomis wins Ernie Davis Award

February 04 2022 08:00 am

ELMIRA, N.Y. (WETM) – They say the third time is the charm, but four is so much more.

Horseheads Riley Loomis earned the coveted Ernie Davis Football Award on Thursday at the Kiwanis Luncheon in Elmira. With the win, Loomis became the fourth consecutive Horseheads player to win the Ernie Davis Award. Ryan Scott won last spring after fall football was altered. Gavin Elston won in 2019 and Maurice Rankins Jr. earned the award in 2018.

Loomis was sensational on the field this season for the Blue Raiders helping the team to a Section IV Class A regular season crown. As a tough runner out of the backfield, Loomis racked up 1,169 yards and 12 touchdowns. On defense, Loomis was also a threat in the secondary recording 59 tackles and an interception.

Loomis becomes just the 11th player in Horseheads history to win the Ernie Davis Award, which began in 1963. Hear from Loomis on a memorbale day in Blue Raider history, plus, a full list of Horseheads all-time winners below.

Horseheads Ernie Davis Football Award Winners
1975 – Brad Clark
1988 – Bert Conklin
1997 – Nate Watkins
1998 – Matt Tunison (Tie w/Edison’s Chris Mallette)
2004 – Matt Manganaro
2006 – Luke Herrington
2012 – Glen Watson (Tie w/Notre Dame’s Tom Agan & Elmira’s Jerry McPeak)
2018 – Maurice Rankins Jr.
2019 – Gavin Elston
2021 – Ryan Scott (Spring Football)
2021 – Riley Loomis

Copyright 2022 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

If you have a news tip or a correction to the story you can email it to us through this link. If you would like to send a comment to the author of the story, you can find their email on our Meet the Team page.

More Sports
More Sports


Trending Now